Swimmom’s Weblog

Diary of a Stay-at-home Mom, motherhood and beyond

No Sophia! June 16, 2008

Filed under: motherhood,parenting — swimmom @ 8:23 pm
Tags: ,

I love, love, love my daughter but honestly,if she were my first, I am not so sure there would have been another.

She is sweet, adorable and can your melt your heart with the bat of her pretty eyes, but she is also very, very exhausting. From the minute she wakes up, to the minute she falls asleep at night she is completely into everything. From climbing on the toilet and going into the toiletries, opening the freezer (mistake of a bottom freezer), going in the dishwasher, climbing on the chair to the computer desk, the kitchen table the train table and anything else she can reach or jimmy herself up on. She also rips books out of the bookcase and climbs up on the table and throws fruit from the fruit bowl onto the floor.

And she doesn’t take no for an answer. I am so tired of saying no that I have started giving my 16 month old time outs in her playpen. Does a 16 month old even understand a time out?

I have no idea what to do.

What do you do to “control” your over active infant without curbing their desire for curiosity?

My daughter is completely out of control and I am afraid if I don’t do something about it now she will just get worse. I am being like this as a 16 month old is one thing but being like this as a 3 year old, I don’t know if I could handle it.

Anyone have any advice for dealing with the “active” infant? or finding ways to keep her attention off all the bad stuff and into the “good” stuff”?

Let me know.

 

Leave a Reply

