Swimmom’s Weblog

Diary of a Stay-at-home Mom, motherhood and beyond

The Potty Game April 21, 2008

I’m not good at this potty training thing.

I know there are people who are good at it. You have to be persistent, consistent and very determined. I am determined but I think I falter on the persistent and consistent.  I am really good one day, as is George, and the next day I start out good and get distracted by my daughter or whatever and soon it’s been 2 hours, I haven’t asked my son to go pee-pee on the potty and his diaper is hanging like a lead weight between his legs.

What can I say?

I should probably put on the kitchen timer. That way it remind me and him to go, but I haven’t done that. That would be too easy, right?

This potty training thing is hard.

It’s like a two way mind game.

You have to trick them into thinking that taking breaks from playing with their ever so precious toys and getting up every 20 minutes or so to go pee pee in the potty is better than sitting in a sopping wet diaper.

We see the logic, they may see it, but they don’t care.

To them (my son), that is what a pull up is for, to pee in, he knows he can go pee pee in the potty and can stay dry for hours at a time, but once he gets to building his train tracks or playing outside, there is no reasoning.

Especially when he senses how bad I want him to give it up.

So the mind game continues, and trust me, I’ve found that the ball is always in their court.

Big boys wear big boy underwear (as my friend would call it BBUs), ride bikes and go to school, big boys go pee-pee in the potty. But on the same hand big boys have learned that mommys will do anything to get them to go pee pee on the potty including giving them rewards.

What if the rewards aren’t big enough for the outcome?

As far as he’s concerned, his diaper can stay wet for one more day!

 

Leave a Reply

