Swimmom’s Weblog

Diary of a Stay-at-home Mom, motherhood and beyond

Can Princesses be as Tough as Their brothers? March 26, 2008

Filed under: motherhood,parenting — swimmom @ 5:33 pm
Tags: ,

I am finding my free time to be less and less.

I am adjusting to having to moving, jumping, bouncing, climbing on everything kids.

My one year old is way more active then my son was and I seriously didn’t think that was possible. Never say never.

Most of my days have been spent repeatedly taking her off chairs, couches, train tables and toilets to all of which she climbs up on and stands, so proudly, as if she just climbed to the top of Mount Everest. And of course, she has no fear, she rolled of the couch, cried all of 30 seconds and got back up and tried to jump on the couch. She stands on the train table, on the toilet and everything else she can find. I think she will be my little princess in pink ribbons, bows and lace, who can beat the boys at any game. My husband is terrified of her new found confidence (and somewhat cockiness) and in his mind advances it to a whole new level, a teenage daughter with attitude! I have to laugh!

Hearing of my daughter’s courageous endeavors, my friend recommended a book she bought for her daughter.

Do Princesses Wear Hiking Boots?

It’s a great book about a little girl asking her mom about what is the correct behavior for princesses, like are they supposed to engage in behaviors such as climbing trees and walking in the rain. They come to the conclusion that being a princess is more about what’s inside that really matters.

It is a series, they also have Do Princesses Scrape Their Knees?

Do Princesses Really Kiss Frogs?

and Do Princesses Count?


My princess wears dresses, bows in her hair and loves to play with dolls and purses.

She also plays in dirt (and at times eats it), plays with trains and cars, climbs atop couches and chairs and chases after her 3 year old brother.

I can’t wait until my daughter is old enough to share these books with her.

In the mean time, maybe I’ll share them with my husband.

 

Leave a Reply

