Swimmom’s Weblog

Diary of a Stay-at-home Mom, motherhood and beyond

To favor or not To Favor February 27, 2008

I am really over doing this birthday party thing.

I usually err on the side of being cheap (well, more like inexpensive, I usually like to get the most for my buck) but since my husband gave me the go ahead on this Bounce U party, it’s been full speed ahead (at least according to my standards).

My latest dilemma has been whether or not to do party favors.

I wasn’t sure of two things.

Did I want to spend the money for it considering I am already paying for everyone to play at this play place?

And I have a large age range, how was I going to get something for everyone?

Well, of course, I decided, why not? and I went with the favors.

I went with a local person (so if you live in Philly or South Jersey great, but I think she also ships out for everyone else).

I heard about her through the grapevine. My friend used her for favors for one of her daughters parties (she ordered these super cute Frisbees), and we have gone to parties where her favors have been given. I always hear very positive things. She is Mindys Magic Touch. And hopefully we will score another magic touch with this one.

The favors come hand decorated and affordable. I think they make a nice touch for your party guest and they also come wrapped and “bowed” ready to give. I had trouble deciding but after consulting my husband (who has no idea whatsoever) I went with the Roundabouts. I figure the little kids can put snacks in them and the older kids can up them on their desk or dresser and use them for trinkets, like erasers, spare change, whatever.

Anyway, check out her website. She really has come cute stuff at great prices. She has anything from Frisbees to decorated pillow cases (I hear those are adorable).

Well, since I went with the favors, unfortunately I couldn’t go with the amazing Thomas the Train cake I saw at Diabartolo bakery, a great Collingswood bakery that makes amazing cakes. If you live in the area and need a cake for any occasion, I would definitely recommend them.

They are like the “Ace of Cakes” of South Jersey.

I ordered my sister’s baby shower cake there, which is this weekend. They make a great cake in the shape of a baby carriage. (It’s pictured in the second row. We ordered the Spongebob Cake for his birthday last year.)

When I went in to order the cake, I saw this amazing Thomas the Train cake. It’s 3-D and shaped like Thomas. You really can’t beat it. Anyway, as far as the cake is concerned we went with the a Wegmans cake. Mainly because they too make great adorable tasting cakes (great icing and super moist cake), but I need a full sheet and it’s a little more affordable, especially since I went with the favors. But they really do an exceptional job at their bakery. Besides, I think I need an easy cake to cut since it is cute served by the people at Bounce U. I’ll save that Thomas the Train cake for next year, I’ll sure he’ll still be a train enthusiast (knock on wood, it may be onto something else).

Anyway, a baby shower this weekend, George’s birthday the next, and my sister, husband and mother-in-law are also in the month of March.

And we are looking for a new house.

Things couldn’t get more hectic, fun but hectic.

 

One Response to “To favor or not To Favor”

  1. Thank you so very much for the kind words. To let everyone know, Mindy’s Magic Touch does ship nationwide… so location is never an issue. We have a unique collection of hand-painted, personalized gifts and party favors for children of all ages and adults. In addition, we offer gifts for all occassions, including birthday, housewarming, anniversary, Bar/Bat Mitzvah, Sweet 16, hoidays, and more! We offer a nice line of fine, Judaica gifts, as well as a collection of over 100 different personalized Christmas ornaments. Mindy’s Magic Touch also has a FREE gift registry service and gift certificates available in any denomination.

    We have 2 ongoing promotions – Receive a FREE party favor with each party favor order of 15 or more pieces. Or, purchase 3 or more gift items and take 10% OFF your gift order.

    As a special reward to you, we are pleased to offer a special promotion: Take $10 OFF of any purchase of $30 or more. Please be sure to mention this blog when you contact us.

    For questions, more information, or if you would like to place an order, please contact:

    Mindy Kleinman
    Artist/Designer
    Mindy’s Magic Touch
    http://www.mindysmagictouch.com
    mindy@mindysmagictouch.com
    (856) 396-0460

    Personalizing your world… one gift at a time!


Leave a Reply

