Swimmom’s Weblog

Diary of a Stay-at-home Mom, motherhood and beyond

New Year, New Recipes! January 15, 2008

If you remember, one of the things I wanted to try for the New Year was making new recipes for my kids.

I wanted to get my 34 month old and my 11 month old to try new things without tricking them into eating it.

I ordered this recipe book at Barnes and Noble called The Big Book of Recipes for Babies, Toddlers, and Children: 365 Quick, Easy and Healthy Dishes.

So far it has been a big hit.

Our favorite breakfast recipe so far, for both kids, is the

Oaty Breakfast Pancakes.

1 1/4 c. all purpose flour

2 tbsp baking powder

1 c. oats ( I use Quaker Old Fashioned Oatmeal)

2 eggs, beaten

2 c. milk

4 tbsp vegetable oil

Place the flour, oats, and baking powder in a bowl. Add the eggs, milk, and oil and mix well. Heat up a large skillet/ griddle, adding oil if needed. Drop spoonfuls of the batter into the skillet/griddle, allowing room for the pancake to spread. Cook on medium heat until the bubbles appear and the undersides are golden brown. Turn and cook the other sides. Serve immediately or keep warm until rest are cooked. Top with berries or maple syrup. Makes 16-20 pancakes.

These are very quick and easy to make. For George, I top with a little Smart Balance and lite maple syrup. For Sophia, the 11 month old, cut into tiny pieces and top with a little applesauce. This makes them easier for her to eat. But these pancakes have been a big hit with both of them. My husband even enjoyed a batch.

One thing I made for my son which I didn’t think he was going to like, although he loves couscous, was the Warm Couscous Salad, he asked for seconds.

1/2 c. couscous

3/4 c. boiling water or vegetable stock

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small leek, sliced

1 green bell pepper, cored and diced

1 red bell pepper, cored and diced

1/2 zucchini, diced

2 stick celery, sliced

Place the couscous in a large bowl, pour on the boiling water or stock, and set aside to stand for 10-15 minutes, until all the liquid is absorbed. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a skillet and add the vegetables. Stir-fry them for 10 minutes until softened. Add the couscous to the skillet and gently stir as it warms through. Serve warm. Marks 4-6 servings

I absolutely love this cookbook. It has recipes from age 6 months and up. The sides can be cooked for the entire family, so it’s not like you are cooking one thing for the kids and another for you and your husband. They have recipes for purees for the babies, simple sandwiches such as Peanut Butter and Banana, tons of sides, main dishes and even deserts, I can’t wait to try.

I hadn’t heard of this book until I found it on Barnes and Noble, I don’t know how it has flown under the radar.

This is a definite must buy!

Tip:It’s out of stock right now on Barnes and Noble, but I believe you can buy a new copy Amazon for less than $13.

 

One Response to “New Year, New Recipes!”

  1. I have some free kids cookbooks and a bunch of kids recipes at http://theweekendchef.com . You could try them out and let us know which ones the kids like.


Leave a Reply

