Swimmom’s Weblog

Diary of a Stay-at-home Mom, motherhood and beyond

Banana Bread Weather November 26, 2007

Filed under: recipes,Uncategorized — swimmom @ 3:34 pm
Tags: ,

If you haven’t guessed, I love cooking.

More than cooking, I love baking.

I love this recipe and for the life of me, cannot remember where I got it. But, I make it during the winter season usually every other week. It is the only recipe for banana bread my husband likes, that is if I add a ton of Walnuts.

It is easy to make and one of the only recipes I found with strong coffee included in the ingredient mix. It seemed strange to me at first, but it works. Warning: I am usually very health conscious, but this recipe is not.

Here it is:

1 1/2c. butter

1 3/4c. brown sugar

4 eggs

2 1/2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract

1/2 teaspoon Almond Extract

1 1/2 teaspoon Orange zest (I don’t always add this)

4 c. flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

2 tablespoons Cinnamon

2 c. puree ripe bananas (puree or mash the banana and mix them in 1 c. strong black coffee)

1 cup or in my case (or in my case 1 1/2c. ) chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease (or and non-stick spray to bread pan)

In a small bowl combine with a whisk, flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, nutmeg and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine butter, sugar and eggs. Stir in vanilla and orange zest.

Then add banana mixture , dry mixture and walnuts.

Bake for about 40-50 minutes or until toothpick or fork in center comes out dry.

Tip: For an extra little something, I add a crumble topping(1/2c flour, 1/2c.brown sugar and 1/4c. butter) to the top of the bread before baking.

 

Leave a Reply

