Swimmom’s Weblog

Diary of a Stay-at-home Mom, motherhood and beyond

Cookies and Texas Football November 3, 2007

Filed under: recipes — swimmom @ 11:03 pm
Tags: , , ,

My beloved Longhorns played today and once again tested my fan-o-meter. I must rate high because, yes, I still love my horns. And it wasn’t pretty, down 28-14 at the half. We did end up beating Oklahoma State 38-35 and it was ugly. But I guess on the win meter a win is a win. (Right? At least that is what we tell ourselves so we hang on until next time!) Anyway, while I watched the game. I made Oatmeal cookies with my son George. He was doing less of the cooking and more of the messing, but it took my mind of the roller coaster of a football game I was attempting to watch. Here is the recipe for George’s favorite Oatmeal cookies.

2 sticks of butter

3/4 c. firmly packed brown sugar

3.4 c. granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 c. all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 c. old fashioned or quick cook oatmeal

1 1/2 c. raisins

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat together butter and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined four, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt, mix well. Stir in oats and raisins. Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy.

I usually make them with George. I measure the sugars, flour and break the egg beforehand and watch in complete amusment as he enjoys helping me pour everything into the bowl. Sometimes more ingredients hit the floor than the bowl and I put them in the oven wondering how they turn out, but they seem to work just right every time.

 

Leave a Reply

