Swimmom’s Weblog

Diary of a Stay-at-home Mom, motherhood and beyond

In love… October 21, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — swimmom @ 2:28 pm

 p9010014b.jpgI knew that having kids would change my life, but I didn’t know how much it would “enrich” my life. Having George and Sophia made me realize what was really important and put a lot of things in perspective. I no longer worry about the petty things but look at the big picture. I choose to be a stay-at-home mom for that reason, I really wanted to be there for my kids. I wanted to be the one raising them because then at least if they get screwed up along the lines, I know who did it! But seriously, my mom stayed home with my sister and I. I never thought I would be a stay-at-home mom, I thought I would be in a high powered job, and have a nanny or drop them off a day care, and not really care. But once we saw his little face and fingers and toes, there was no way I could leave him with someone else, and my husband wasn’t exactly a fan of daycare either, so we choose the alternative.  I remember when I decided to stay home one of my sister in laws said to me, “Oh well, what are you going to do when they want the latest toy or gadget on the block, kids are expensive.” Silly me, but I figured in the long run, me being there was more important then having the latest Xbox or video game. I don’t know how they did it, but my mom stayed home, my dad made a good living for us and we were spoiled (they would love to hear me say this) but not spoiled to the point where we expected everything, but, I think we were spoiled with love. That is only what I hope to do for my kids in return.  And let me point out this doesn’t mean giving  up my sense of self along the way. Like all moms, I have a lot of work a head of me. It helps to have the greatest husband in the world. He helps with the kids amazingly. When he is home whether in the evenings or on the weekends, he is in there up to his elbows in dirty diapers, loving every second of it.

pa080021b.jpgHow could you not love this face?My daughter Sophia, 8 months!!

 

Leave a Reply

